(Xʷməθkʷəy̓əm (Musqueam), Sḵwx̱wú7mesh (Squamish) and səlilwətaɬ (Tsleil-Waututh)  – The Indigenous Tourism Association of Canada (ITAC) is pleased to announce the appointment of James McPherson of Sahtu Adventures as the newly appointed board member for the Northwest Territories (NWT) and the renewal of the ITAC Executive committee. The Board appointed him at the ITAC Board of Directors meeting held February 8, 2023, at the MacBride Museum in Whitehorse, YK.

McPherson began his one-year term in effect until the ITAC 8th annual general meeting, at which time an election will take place in accordance with ITAC board policy and bylaws. With this appointment, the Board has full representation from all 13 provinces and territories. 

McPherson is Métis and hails from Tųlı́t’ą, NWT. He has a vast knowledge of the land that comes only from a lifetime of experience. Learning from the Elders, he acquired a wealth of knowledge from traditions and culture, carried on from thousands of years. He owns Sahtu Adventures with his Fiancé Jennie Vandermeer and they are based out of Norman Wells, NWT. 

“I applied to be a director so that I can speak up for the Indigenous people of Canada, especially the NWT, where I feel that we are still a hidden gem to the world,” says James McPherson, Director, representing NWT. “My goal is to put the NWT on the map and provide the Indigenous people of Canada the support they need to chase their dreams and start a business doing what they love to do.”

“ITAC is pleased to have full representation from our Provincial and Territorial Partners and thankful for all the board members and their time dedicated to advancing Indigenous tourism,” says Keith Henry, President and CEO of ITAC. “With the addition of James’ strategic guidance, ITAC is positioned to make a significant impact for its membership in the NWT and is grateful to have the renewed Executive committee.”

“On behalf of the Board, I am honored to welcome James to the ITAC Board of Directors,” says Marilyn Jensen, Chair, representing Yukon. “It’s critical for our Board to have representation from coast to coast to coast.”

At this same Board of Directors meeting, the Board elected its Executive committee. The full ITAC Executive are now as follows:

  • Chair – Marilyn Jensen, Yukon
    Board Chair Yukon First Nations Culture & Tourism
  • Vice-chair – Brenda Holder, Alberta
    Mahikan Trails
  • Treasurer – Kelly Fiddler, Saskatchewan
    Beaver River Consulting
  • Secretary – Jason W Johnston, Ontario
    Cape Croker Park