Xʷməθkʷəy̓əm (Musqueam), Sḵwx̱wú7mesh (Squamish) and səlilwətaɬ (Tsleil-Waututh), Vancouver, BC – The Indigenous Tourism Association of Canada (ITAC) is pleased to announce the acclamation of two members to the Board of Directors made at  ITAC’s 7th Annual General Meeting (AGM), which was held in person and virtually on Friday, December 16, 2022.

ITAC successfully delivered its AGM in person and virtually via Zoom. The agenda included remarks from the Board Chair and Co-Chair; review of the audited financial statements; operational highlights; an update from Destination Canada, resolutions and an update from all provinces and territories, which included Indigenous tourism associations showing their alignment and collaboration with ITAC. The AGM was also an excellent opportunity for its members to ask questions and get responses right at the source.

ITAC shared its 2022-2023 Mid-Term Progress video update and it highlighted how ITAC has remained committed to supporting the development and stabilization of provincial and territorial Indigenous tourism organizations and will continue to move forward with all annual deliverables to maintain this commitment.

“ITAC continues to be the leading national Indigenous tourism organization in Canada. As of April 2022, the association has over 1,100 members and an estimated 1,900 Indigenous-owned tourism businesses,” says Keith Henry, President and CEO of ITAC. “We look forward to the work ahead as we continue to build a strong and resilient Indigenous tourism industry.”

“It’s an honour to help guide the ongoing solidarity with our Provincial and Territorial Partners in the coming year,” says Marilyn Jensen, Chair, representing Yukon. “I look forward to ITAC’s growth for the new year and together we can accomplish this.”

Election Results

With the acclamation of two members to the Board of Directors representing Manitoba and Yukon, we are pleased to have strong Métis, First Nation and Inuit leaders and a majority of women on the board (54%). This remains critical for the organization.


ITAC acclaims two nominees to its board of directors:

  • Manitoba representative, David Daley, from Wapusk Adventures (Director for ITAC, Board Chair Indigenous Tourism Manitoba)
  • Yukon representative, Marilyn Jensen, from the Dakhká Khwaán Dancers (Chair and New Director for ITAC, Board Chair Yukon First Nations Culture & Tourism)

The full ITAC Board of Directors are now as follows:

  • Chair – Marilyn Jensen, Yukon
    Board Chair Yukon First Nations Culture & Tourism
  • Vice-chair – Brenda Holder
    Mahikan Trails
  • Treasurer – Kelly Fiddler, Saskatchewan
    Beaver River Consulting
  • Director  – Colleen Lambert, Newfoundland and Labrador
    Miawpukek Tourism
  • Director – Marlene Joudry, Nova Scotia
    Program Facilitator, Master Artisan, and Cultural Facilitator
  • Director – Dave Daley, Manitoba
    Wapusk Adventures
  • Director – Patricia Dunnett, New Brunswick
    Metepenagiag Heritage Park
  • Director – Frank Antoine, British Columbia
    Moccasin Trails
  • Director by Appointment – Vacant
    Nomination Process Underway
  • Secretary – Jason W Johnston, Ontario
    Cape Croker Park
  • Director – Marie-Pierre Lainé, Quebec
    Indigenous Tourism Quebec
  • Director – Jamie Thomas, Prince Edward Island
    Lennox Island Development Corporation
  • Director – Sheila Flaherty, Nunavut
    Indigenous Culinary of Associated Nation

ITAC is looking forward to having such resilient representation leading ITAC and the Indigenous tourism sector in recovery and building resiliency.

For more information on ITAC’s Board of Directors, click here

To view the 2022 AGM Draft Minutes, click here.

To view the Mid-Term Highlight video, click here.