Indigenous Tourism: Thinking outside the box, inside the circle


Grand Entry at the 2017 International Aboriginal Tourism Conference | Grande entrée au Congrès international du tourisme autochtone 2017

By Kim Gray

In early November, I was honoured to attend the 6th annual International Aboriginal Tourism Conference — co-hosted by the Tsuut’ina Nation on their traditional land in Treaty 7 territory.

The theme of this extraordinary event, which was held at the Grey Eagle Resort & Casino in Calgary, Alberta, was “Raising Our Voices: Building Economy through Indigenous Tourism and Community Stories.”

With emcee Hal Eagletail of the Tsuut’ina Nation keeping the pace steady (and fun!), there was an air of genuine excitement throughout the two day conference, host to a record-breaking 500 plus stakeholders — stakeholders including people from First Nations, Inuit and Métis communities, as well as globally-minded Indigenous and non-Indigenous tourism organizations.

Selfie time with Keith Henry, ITAC President & CEO | Photo by Neil Zeller courtesy Indigenous Tourism Association of Canada

Before a rapt audience on opening day, guest speaker Senator Murray Sinclair, former Chief Commissioner of the Truth & Reconciliation Commission of Canada, declared that when it comes to tourism, Indigenous people need to “think outside the box, but remain inside the circle.”

“As Indigenous people, we have survived a horrific period in the history of our country. It has contributed to dysfunction, damage to our cultures and to a false perception of Indigenous peoples. Our struggles are a reflection of what has been done to us, they are not who we are,” said Senator Sinclair during a touching address.

“We are a people still recovering, and trying to find our way in a world where we could have been more than we are now. We need to come to terms with our history and then move forward. We have survived, and now we will thrive.”

Even though Indigenous people in Canada come from diverse backgrounds, he continued, they are special because they were here first — “we have the earth beneath our feet and we were placed here to take care of it.”

When Canada as a nation talks about why people should visit, said Senator Sinclair, Indigenous people must be, on their own terms, part of the conversation.

He then announced with sparkles in his eyes — “After all, given the latest estimates, we’ve only been here for the past 100,000 years.”

Senator Murray Sinclair | Photo by Neil Zeller courtesy Indigenous Tourism Association of Canada

Throughout the conference, it was made clear that partnerships with major stakeholders are critical to the success of Indigenous tourism in Canada.

In this case, event partners and sponsors included all the big hitters — the Tsuut’ina First Nation as co-host, along with Destination Canada, Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada (INAC), Parks Canada, Government of Alberta, Travel Alberta, Tourism Victoria, World Indigenous Tourism Alliance, Tourism Industry Association of Canada (TIAC), Adventure Travel Trade Association, Tourism Calgary, Tourism Edmonton, Tourism Saskatoon and the Calgary Stampede.

Aside from the main two day event (held Nov 7th and 8th), an Alberta-focussed pre-conference gathering boasted 200 participants who rallied for the creation of an Indigenous Tourism Association of Alberta, led by Indigenous tourism entrepreneurs (much like similar associations currently thriving in British Columbia and Quebec.)

“There’s a lot of power when we come together,” announced ITAC board director Brenda Holder of Canmore, Alberta’s Mahikan Trails. ITAC identified 86 export-ready Indigenous tourism businesses within the province and offered up three years of financial support and a framework to ensure success for the new association.

During a conversation with attendee Élisabeth Lacoursière, Director of Outreach and Marketing for Parks Canada, I learn that Parks Canada has been establishing relationships with Indigenous partners for years, and that the alliance continues to evolve.

“We already work with more than 300 Indigenous communities across the country. Traditional knowledge regularly informs research, conservation, monitoring, visitor safety, visitor experience and asset management efforts in the field,” explained Lacoursière.

“Today, we’re excited to be working with ITAC on further product development and marketing to support the growth of Indigenous tourism in Canada.”

Renie Arey, Inuvialuit Elder from Aklavik, Ivvavik National Park | Photo courtesy Parks Canada

Lacoursière noted several successful examples of Parks Canada partnerships with Indigenous communities that are up and running — including the arctic base camp in Yukon’s Ivvavik National Park developed collaboratively with the Aklavik Community Corporation, interpretive programs with British Columbia’s Gwaii Haanas National Park Reserve alongside the Haida Nation, and heritage camping as part of Alberta’s Rocky Mountain House National Historic Site experience, which is run with the Métis Local 845, the Confluence Heritage Society and the Kis Sai Wah Toe Tat Towin Society.

Spotted Elk Cultural Centre (Brown Bear Woman Meeting Space) | Photo by Neil Zeller courtesy Indigenous Tourism Association of Canada

Conference delegates were also invited to experience Painted Warriors Ranch, Spotted Elk Cultural Centre (Brown Bear Woman Meeting Space), Tsuut’ina Nation Culture Museum and a Talking Circle Networking Event.

And a bustling Indigenous Artisan’s Market featuring quality goods for sale had delegates happily shopping between speakers.

Among the market’s many highlights were a gorgeous arts and crafts display courtesy Vancouver Island’s I-Hos Gallery (yes, I may have purchased a silk tie with an orca design), soft beaver fur hand warmers from Northwest Territories-based Aurora Heat and flavourful, freshly roasted coffee from the friendly folks at Spirit Bear Coffee Company.

IATC Marketplace | Photo by Neil Zeller courtesy Indigenous Tourism Association of Canada

When asked about his reason for attending, event delegate Todd Labrador, a seventh generation birch bark canoe builder originally from the Wildcat First Nation in Queens County, Nova Scotia, later insisted that the conference had value for him given his role as a representative of the Mi’kmaq First Nation.

“It was important to meet new people, make new contacts, listen and learn from the successes and challenges of others, and bring back this information to my communities,” said Labrador, who was just named Indigenous artist of the year by Creative Nova Scotia.

He and others were inspired by speakers such as entrepreneur Kylik Kisoun-Taylor of Tundra North Tours who captured the hearts of delegates with his enthusiastic approach to business.

“I love what I do. People say, ‘Aren’t you tired?’ I say ‘No way, man. I’m doing what I love!”

Kisoun-Taylor’s advice to other aspiring tourism entrepreneurs? “Dress nice. Stand out. If someone believes in you, invests in you, then fulfill your obligation as best as you can,” he said. “You have to have a sense of professionalism.”

Dené Sinclair, ITAC Director of Marketing, delivered helpful tips on how entrepreneurs can tee themselves up to be market and export ready. (So ITAC can confidently market their tourism businesses at home and abroad.)

“Name your Nation in your marketing material, use quality images and put people in those images. Highlight your storytellers,” advised Sinclair, also referring her audience to ITAC’s comprehensive national guidelines.

“Decide how your community wants to be represented,” she continued. “Focus on what makes your business unique and different and keep it engaging and extraordinary.”

A hands down conference highlight was the moment Blackfoot filmmaker and guest speaker Cowboy Smithx — a fierce but hopeful intellectual with an interest in Indigenous identity and a healthy future for the planet — took the stage.

Cowboy Smithx | Photo by Neil Zeller courtesy Indigenous Tourism Association of Canada

“Indigenous tourism can work if there is a consideration for all things sustainable. Then, the next big step is authenticity. When you align these intentions together, you’re setting yourself up for success,” said Smithx, the founder of REDx Talks.

“But you also have to consider the reberveration of the frequencies of the land. This has been missing from the Canadian spectrum of identity. Indigenous people have the wifi password to nature, yet Canadians rarely recognize Indigenous connections,” he continued, commenting that he grew up in Southern Alberta as a minority and a foreigner in his own land. (“A very interesting psychological experience for any child to navigate.”)

“This is the only place on the planet you’re going to find those specific connections. You can’t go to Africa to experience the Haida. Or to Europe to experience the Mohawk. And you can’t learn about the Blackfoot way of knowing in Asia. We’ve been waiting in the wings to activate our knowledge. We want to see society thrive and we want to help each other. Tourism can work as a beacon. We have a chance to build a country that is a real country, but that Canada is still to be determined.”

People, continued Smithx, should consider upcoming generations when they make decisions, and conduct themselves as responsible “ancestors of the future.”

Cultural performance at the Indigenous Tourism Awards Gala | Photo by Neil Zeller courtesy Indigenous Tourism Association of Canada

The 2017 International Aboriginal Tourism Conference wrapped up with Tsuut’ina-inspired dance performances, music by Blue Moon Marquee and an Awards Gala.

I recently visited Spirit Bear Lodge which is located in Canada’s Great Bear Rainforest, often referred to as Canada’s Galapagos, so it was thrilling to see this exceptional community-run operation win the Indigenous Adventure Award. (Believe me, you want to visit this magical place.)

Marketing Campaign of the Year winner went to Summer Solstice Indigenous Festival 2017, Most Improved Business of the Year was awarded to Tourism Wendake and Most Inspiring Cultural Ambassador was given to Scott Hudson, Northern Lights Dog Sledding.

Here at home in Alberta, Spotted Elk Camps won Alberta Indigenous Experience Award (Indoor), Mahikan Trails & Painted Warriors tied for Alberta Indigenous Experience Award (Outdoor), Grey Eagle Resort won Alberta Indigenous Lodging Award and Moonstone Creation was the recipient of the Alberta Indigenous Artist/Event Award.

Overall, the 2017 International Aboriginal Tourism conference was nothing if not ambitious. I’m struck by this fact, especially given that I attended last year’s excellent event in Nova Scotia.

No question, the Indigenous tourism movement has gained major traction in short order and the momentum is impressive. With this observation in mind, it makes sense to give the last word to ITAC President and CEO Keith Henry.

“We need to commit to being the best we can be,” declared one of Indigenous tourism’s most impassioned leaders to the sold-out house of conference delegates.

“People want a great experience. That’s our job.”



Simple Share Buttons
Simple Share Buttons

Tourisme autochtone : Penser en dehors de la boîte, à l’intérieur du cercle


Grand Entry at the 2017 International Aboriginal Tourism Conference | Grande entrée au Congrès international du tourisme autochtone 2017

Par Kim Gray

Au début de novembre, j’ai eu le privilège d’assister au 6ème Congrès international du tourisme autochtone — co-organisée par la nation Tsuut’ina sur le territoire traditionnel du traité no.7.

Le thème de cet événement extraordinaire, qui s’est tenu au Grey Eagle Resort & Casino à Calgary, en Alberta, était « Faire entendre nos voix : bâtir l’économie grâce au tourisme autochtone et aux histoires des communautés ».

Le maître de cérémonie Hal Eagletail de la nation Tsuut’ina maintenait un rythme soutenu (et intéressant!) et il y avait une véritable effervescence tout au long du congrès de deux jours qui a accueilli un nombre record de plus de 500 participants incluant les membres des communautés des Premières Nations, Inuits et Métis ainsi que les organisations touristiques autochtones et non-autochtones ayant une ouverture mondiale.

Selfie avec M. Keith Henry, président-directeur général de l’ATAC | Photo par Neil Zeller. Gracieuseté de l’ATAC

Devant un public captivé le jour d’ouverture, le conférencier invité le sénateur Murray Sinclair, ancien commissaire en chef de la Commission de vérité et réconciliation du Canada, a déclaré que, lorsqu’il s’agit du tourisme, les peuples autochtones doivent « penser en dehors de la boîte tout en restant dans le cercle ».

« En tant qu’Autochtones, nous avons survécu à une période horrible de l’histoire de notre pays. Cela a causé un dysfonctionnement, fait du mal à nos cultures et créé une fausse perception des peuples autochtones. Nos luttes sont le reflet de ce qui nous a été fait, et non de qui nous sommes », a déclaré le sénateur Sinclair lors d’un discours émouvant.

« Nous sommes un peuple qui se remet encore, et nous essayons de trouver notre chemin dans un monde où nous aurions pu être plus que ce que nous sommes aujourd’hui. Nous devons nous réconcilier avec notre histoire et aller de l’avant. Nous avons survécu, et maintenant nous irons vers la prospérité. »

Même si les peoples autochtones du Canada sont issus de milieux différents, selon le sénateur Sinclair, ils sont spéciaux car ils étaient les premiers ici — « nous avons la terre sous nos pieds et nous avons été placés ici pour en prendre soin. »

Lorsque le Canada, en tant que nation, parle des raisons pour lesquelles les gens devraient venir visiter, selon le sénateur, les peuples autochtones, doivent, selon leurs propres conditions, faire partie de la discussion.

Il déclara ensuite avec des étincelles dans les yeux — « Après tout, compte tenu des dernières estimations, cela fait seulement 100 000 ans que nous sommes ici. »

Le sénateur Murray Sinclair | Photo par Neil Zeller. Gracieuseté de l’ATAC

Tout au long du congrès, il a été clairement souligné que les partenariats avec les principales parties prenantes sont essentiels au succès du tourisme autochtone au Canada.

Les partenaires et collaborateurs de cet événement incluaient des acteurs clés— la Première Nation Tsuut’ina  en tant que co-organisatrice, ainsi que Destination CanadaAffaires autochtones et du Nord Canada (AANC)Parcs Canadale gouvernement de l’AlbertaTravel AlbertaTourism Victoria, la World Indigenous Tourism Alliancel’Association de l’industrie touristique du Canada (AITC)l’Adventure Travel Trade AssociationTourism CalgaryTourism EdmontonTourism Saskatoon et le Calgary Stampede.

Outre le principal événement de deux jours (le 7 et 8 novembre), un rassemblement pré-congrès axé sur l’Alberta a réuni 200 participants qui se sont mobilisés pour la création d’une association touristique autochtone menée par les entrepreneurs touristiques autochtones en Alberta (à l’image des associations similaires en plein essor en Colombie-Britannique et au Québec).

« On ressent une grande force quand on se réunit », a déclaré Mme Brenda Holder de Mahikan Trails à Canmore, en Alberta et membre du conseil d’administration de l’ATAC. L’ATAC a recensé 86 entreprises touristiques autochtones prêtes à l’exportation dans la province et a offert un soutien financier s’étalant sur trois années ainsi qu’un cadre pour assurer le succès de la nouvelle association.

Au cours d’une conversation avec Mme Élisabeth Lacoursière – directrice (diffusion externe et marketing) chez Parcs Canada et participante au congrès – j’ai appris que Parcs Canada établit des relations avec ses partenaires autochtones depuis des années et que ces alliances continuent d’évoluer.

« Nous travaillons déjà avec plus de 300 communautés autochtones à travers le pays. Les connaissances traditionnelles contribuent régulièrement à la recherche, à la conservation, au suivi, à la sécurité et à l’expérience des visiteurs et aux efforts de gestion des actifs sur le terrain », a expliqué Mme Lacoursière.

« Aujourd’hui, nous sommes heureux de collaborer avec l’ATAC pour poursuivre le développement et le marketing de l’offre touristique afin de soutenir la croissance du tourisme autochtone au Canada. »

Renie Arey, Aîné inuvialuit d’Aklavik, Parc national Ivvavik | Photo gracieuseté de Parcs Canada

Mme Lacoursière a cité plusieurs exemples de partenariats fructueux et opérationnels entre Parcs Canada et les communautés autochtones — incluant le camp de base arctique du Parc national Ivvavik au Yukon qui a été développé en collaboration avec l’Aklavik Community Corporation; les programmes d’interprétation avec la Réserve de parc national Gwaii Haanas aux côtés de la nation Haïda de la Colombie-Britannique; et l’expérience de camping patrimonial au Lieu historique national Rocky Mountain House en Alberta qui est offerte en collaboration avec Métis Local 845, la Confluence Heritage Society et la Kis Sai Wah Toe Tat Towin Society.

Centre culturel Spotted Elk (espace Brown Bear Woman Events) | Photo par Neil Zeller. Gracieuseté de l’ATAC

Les délégués du congrès étaient également invités à découvrir le Painted Warriors Ranch, le centre culturel Spotted Elk (espace Brown Bear Woman Events), le Tsuut’ina Nation Culture/Museum et à réseauter lors d’un cercle de discussion.

Un marché d’artisanat autochtone, mettant en vedette des produits de qualité à vendre, faisait la joie des délégués qui effectuaient leurs achats entre les présentations des conférenciers.

Parmi les nombreux attraits du marché, il y avait une magnifique collection d’œuvres d’art et d’artisanat de la galerie I-Hos de l’île de Vancouver (oui, j’ai peut-être acheté une cravate en soie avec un motif d’orque), des chauffe-mains doux en fourrure de castor d’Aurora Heat des Territoires du Nord-Ouest et du café savoureux, fraîchement torréfié, des gens amicaux de la Spirit Bear Coffee Company.

Marché au CITA | Photo par Neil Zeller. Gracieuseté de l’ATAC

Quand je lui ai demandé la raison de sa participation, le délégué Todd Labrador, un fabricant de canots en écorce de bouleau de la septième génération originaire de la Première Nation Wildcat de Queens County, en Nouvelle-Écosse, a affirmé que le congrès était important pour lui étant donné son rôle de représentant de la Première Nation Micmac.

« C’était important de rencontrer de nouveaux gens, de se faire de nouveaux contacts, d’écouter et d’apprendre des succès et des défis des autres, et de ramener ces informations à mes communautés », a déclaré M. Labrador, qui vient d’être nommé artiste autochtone de l’année par Creative Nova Scotia.

Lui et d’autres ont été inspirés par les conférenciers comme l’entrepreneur Kylik Kisoun-Taylor de Tundra North Tours qui a conquis les délégués avec son approche enthousiaste envers les affaires.

« J’aime ce que je fais. Les gens me demandent ‘T’es pas fatigué?’ Je réponds ‘Certainement pas. Je fais ce qui me passionne!’ »

Que conseille M. Kisoun Taylor à d’autres entrepreneurs touristiques en herbe? «  Habillez-vous bien. Démarquez-vous. Si quelqu’un croit en vous, investit en vous, alors respectez votre engagement du mieux que vous le pouvez », a-t-il-dit. « Vous devez avoir un sens du professionnalisme. »

Mme Dené Sinclair, directrice marketing de l’ATAC, a donné des conseils utiles sur la façon dont les entrepreneurs peuvent se préparer pour la mise en marché et l’exportation (pour que l’ATAC puisse faire le marketing de leurs entreprises touristiques en toute confiance au niveau national et international).

« Citez votre nation dans votre matériel marketing, utilisez des images de qualité et mettez des gens dans ces images. Mettez en valeur vos conteurs », a conseillé Mme Sinclair, invitant également son auditoire à consulter les lignes directrices nationales détaillées de l’ATAC.

« Décidez comment votre communauté veut être représentée », a ajouté Mme Sinclair. « Mettez l’accent sur ce qui rend votre entreprise unique et différente et rendez-la intéressante et extraordinaire. »

Un moment fort du congrès a été le discours de Cowboy Smithx – cinéaste pied-noir et conférencier invité, intellectuel féroce mais optimiste qui s’intéresse à l’identité autochtone et à un avenir sain pour la planète.

Cowboy Smithx | Photo par Neil Zeller. Gracieuseté de l’ATAC

« Le tourisme autochtone peut avoir du succès si l’accent est mis sur tout ce qui est durable. Ensuite, la prochaine étape est l’authenticité. Quand vous alignez ces intentions, vous vous préparez à réussir », a déclaré M.Smithz, fondateur de REDx Talks.

« Cependant, vous devez prendre en considération les réverbérations des fréquences de la terre. C’est ce qui manque dans le spectre canadien de l’identité. Les peuples autochtones ont le mot de passe Wi-Fi pour la nature, mais les Canadiens reconnaissent rarement les liens des Autochtones », a continué le cinéaste, en ajoutant qu’il a grandi dans le sud de l’Alberta en tant que minorité et étranger sur son propre territoire. « Une expérience psychologique qui pose des défis à l’enfant qui doit naviguer ces eaux troubles. »

« C’est le seul endroit sur la planète où vous trouverez ces liens spécifiques. Vous ne pouvez pas aller en Afrique pour découvrir les Haïda ou en Europe pour découvrir les Mohawk. Et, vous ne pouvez pas apprendre sur les Pieds-Noirs en Asie. Nous avons attendu d’avoir l’occasion d’activer nos connaissances. Nous voulons voir la société prospérer et nous entraider. Le tourisme peut servir de modèle. Nous avons la chance de bâtir un véritable pays, mais ce Canada-là est encore à être déterminé. »

Selon M. Smithx, les gens devraient prendre en considération les prochaines générations lors de la prise des décisions, et se comporter comme «  des ancêtres responsables du futur ».

Spectacle culturel au Gala des Prix Tourisme Autochtone | Photo par Neil Zeller. Gracieuseté de l’ATAC

Le Congrès international du tourisme autochtone 2017 s’est terminé avec des spectacles de danse de la nation Tsuut’ina, de la musique par le groupe Blue Moon Marquee et un gala de remise de prix.

J’ai récemment visité le Spirit Bear Lodge qui se trouve dans la forêt pluviale de Great Bear, souvent appelée le Galapagos du Canada. C’était donc excitant de voir cette entreprise exceptionnelle, qui est gérée par une communauté, remporter le Prix Aventure autochtone. (Croyez-moi, vous devez visiter cet endroit magique.)

Le prix de la meilleure campagne marketing de l’année a été décerné au Summer Solstice Indigenous Festival 2017 et celui de l’entreprise la plus améliorée de l’année à Tourisme Wendake. Scott Hudson du Northern Lights Dog Sledding a, quant à lui, remporté le prix de l’ambassadeur culturel le plus inspirant.

Ici en Alberta, Spotted Elk Camps a gagné le prix de l’expérience culturelle autochtone intérieure, alors que Mahikan Trails et Painted Warriors ont tous les deux remporté le prix de l’expérience culturelle autochtone extérieure. Le prix de l’hébergement autochtone (Alberta) a été décerné au Grey Eagle Resort et celui de l’artiste/événement autochtone a été remis à Moonstone Creation.

Le Congrès international du tourisme autochtone 2017 était une ambitieuse réussite. La barre était d’autant plus haute suite à l’excellent événement de l’année dernière en Nouvelle-Écosse.

Il va sans dire que le mouvement du tourisme autochtone a rapidement pris de l’ampleur et la dynamique est impressionnante. Avec cette observation, il est logique de donner le dernier mot à M. Keith Henry, président-directeur général de l’ATAC.

« Nous devons nous engager à être le meilleur possible », a déclaré l’un des chefs de file les plus enthousiastes du tourisme autochtone à la salle comble de délégués du congrès.

« Les gens veulent une expérience extraordinaire. C’est notre boulot. »



Simple Share Buttons
Simple Share Buttons